What Mary Thinks: Descendants of the Sun

03

Hello hello hello! It has been a VERY, VERY long time since my last post on this blog and I wanna apologize for the very long wait. Life and procrastination and school took over and I just did not have as much time to update this blog as I had wanted to which is why I had not been posting as much. However, I am happy to say that I am back (at least temporarily for now) and my first post in 132930923364 years will be about new korean drama ‘Descendants of the Sun’ starring none other than handsome baby-face Song Joong Ki!

mylove

So for those of you unfamiliar with ‘Descendants of the Sun’, Song Joong-ki plays Yoo Shi Jin, the team leader of the Special Warfare Command Unit. His love interest is female lead Song Hye-kyo who plays Kang Mo Yun and is a doctor for a hospital in Korea but then ends up becoming a volunteer doctor for a unit called Doctors Without Borders (I’m assuming she’s gonna end up becoming a doctor for soldiers). The other cast consists of Jin Goo as Seo Dae Young who is also a soldier. Meanwhile, Kim Ji Won rounds up the cast as Surgeon Yoon Myung Joo who has an unrequited love for Seo Dae Young.

My initial thoughts of ‘Descendants of the Sun’ before watching the first episode was not so high to be honest. There was a lot of buzz and attention on the drama in the first place because this was Song Joong-ki’s return to dramaland after his military service and that was sadly the only reason why I decided to watch this drama. Just like many other people, I too am a big fan of Song Joong-ki (not only for his looks) so I was excited for this drama because it was his big return. But sadly to say, that was probably the only thing that was keeping me interested in this drama. I’m not a big fan of Song Hye-kyo nor Jin Goo and I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t concerned about Song Hye-kyo’s acting skills. This is my first drama that I’ve watched of Jin Goo ever so I don’t know much about him nor his acting. I am happy though to see Kim Ji-won. She’s so underrated but talented at acting and she doesn’t disappoint in the drama at all so far. I noticed that she tends to play characters that are always interpreted as cold and mean when really her character is just misunderstood and all she really wants is love and attention and support. Overall, the cast for ‘Descendants of the Sun’ is solid and I think they’re all doing a fine job so far. Even Song Hye-kyo who I was worried about is doing fine so far and I’m actually really happy about that.

05

I finished the first episode just right now and I’m not going to lie, the drama is a little bit too cheesy. But I think at the same time, this cheesiness adds onto the overall sweet, cute, and endearing tone of the first episode making me quite honestly enjoy the first episode. Some scenes dragged out longer than it should have, but I think the first episode did a good job in introducing our characters and their backgrounds and while it maybe didn’t focus so much on the plot or storyline (that can always be saved as the drama progresses), we got to know our characters a little bit which is always good.

01

Regarding the love lines, I have a feeling that I am going to be a lot more invested and engaged to the second love line between Seo Dae-young (Jin Goo) and Yoon Myung-joo (Kim Ji-won) and that scares me. Already in the first episode, you get a glimpse of their complicated and intense relationship and it is SO good that I’m already hooked and dying to know what happened between them and what is going to happen to them. From what I saw in episode one, their relationship breaks my heart and I’m curious to see what will happen between the two in the future.

Meanwhile, for Shi-jin and Mo-yun’s relationship, it moved a lot faster than I thought it would. Shi-jin got himself a movie date with Mo-yun after he returns from war and it’s like he might look this tough soldier who have seen and gone through a lot of traumatic stuff but he also has game and a handsome face and gets what he wants. Haha. Very lovely stuff. They are cute together so far, but since the drama is already building a foundation on their relationship positively, I’m curious as to how their relationship is going to end up like and whether this positivity and curiosity towards each other is going to stay or whether things are going to go downhill between them quickly. I guess we’ll have to wait to see what happens between our two lead characters.

06

Overall, ‘Descendants of the Sun’ impresses with its first episode. Hopefully it doesn’t turn out to be one of those dramas where I watch the first few episodes then get bored so I stop watching it. I hope the drama keeps its momentum while providing us with insight on the characters and their complex relationships. ‘Descendants of the Sun’, please don’t disappoint!

lks

(Lee Kwang Soo! Giraffe! He makes a short cameo appearance in the beginning of the episode. I wished he could have acted in this drama, haha. It would have been so funny!)

Credit: all screenshots @ newasiantv.com, official pictures from koreandrama.org

 

One thought on “What Mary Thinks: Descendants of the Sun

Leave a Reply

