What Mary Thinks: YG’s new survival program ‘Mix & Match’

mixandmatch

Ugh, YG YG YG. What am I going to do with you and your harsh and cruel heart? With your heartless behavior? With your shitty ass attitude?

YG held a press conference the other day for his new survival program ‘Mix & Match’ that Team B, who were not the winners of last survival program ‘WIN: Who is Next’, will be participating in. Along with the original six members of Team B that we were introduced to in ‘WIN’ which are B.I, Jinhwan, Bobby, Yunhyeong, Donghyuk, and Junhwe, there will be three new male trainees that will be exposed for the very first time through this survival program. At the press conference it was revealed that B.I, Bobby, and Jinhwan have already been secured a spot at debuting for being the trainees at YG the longest out of all the members and trainees. This leaves Yunhyeong, Donghyuk, and Junhwe to battle it out against the three new trainees Hongseok (1994-er, he’s from Hong Kong), Jinhyeong (1997-er, originally from Australia), and Chanwoo (1998-er, also acted as the child version of Kim Tan in ‘Heirs’) who I might add are all vocalists (so this is basically a battle of the vocalists). There will be a total of three battles (three? only three?!) where 30% of the votes will be coming from the judges while the other 70 from audience voting. The new boy group will be called IKON with the K standing for Korea. The first episode of ‘Mix and Match’ will premiere on September 11.

trainees

(The 3 new trainees – from left to right: Chanwoo, Hongseok, Jinhyeong)

Gahhhhh, you don’t even know how much this breaks my heart. Once I read the news about this survival program, I started to get really anxious and nervous to the point where I was starting to sweat, tremble, shake, and shiver. It’s just that I’ve always been a huge fan of Team B from the very beginning. I wasn’t even a fan of theirs by the time I finished watching episode one of WIN; it was the 20 minute preview of the first episode of WIN that converted me into a Team B fan and convinced me to side with them instead of Team A. Even when WIN ended, I continued to support Team B and stayed by their side. I patiently waited for any news of them and stayed as a loyal fan. It’s not that I dislike the three new trainees because I don’t even know them and haven’t even seen what they are capable of yet (I’m pretty sure they’ve got skills), but it’s just that as a fan of the original Team B group where they were six members from the very start, I don’t want them to be separated. It was absolutely heart-breaking and heart-wrenching watching them lose and get their dreams taken away from them at the very last minute in WIN. If the same thing was to happen again for Yunhyeong, Donghyuk, or Junhwe, I’m going to cry my heart and eyes out until I no longer can.

teamb

Team B might not have been a group that’s been together for a long time, but I do believe that WIN caused them to grow closer and stronger as a team and individually. They displayed such great teamwork in WIN even though they hadn’t even been training as a group for that long yet. I remembered crying along with the members when the newer members Yunhyeong, Donghyuk, and Junhwe wrote letters for the more experienced members B.I, Bobby, and Jinhwan where they expressed their gratitude and appreciation. They all even wore the same ring to showcase their teamwork and the idea that they were a team – that they were one. I was quite pissed when I heard that the new boy group would be 7 members because one, this is YG and his groups are usually never that big and heck he can barely manage his smaller groups, and two, that means that Team B won’t be Team B any longer since there will be an additional member. But the only exception to my second complaint is if all the original members of Team B debuted with the addition of a new member. I will be fine as long as I see all the original members of Team B together on stage. Of course it won’t be the same since there will be seven members instead of six (Team B were perfect the way they were honestly), but I rather see all original six together on stage with a new member than any of the original members being eliminated. It’ll be hard to watch and accept and see, but within time I’ll get used to it. I’m pretty sure of that.

gawdthispictureisjustsobeautifulphoto 2 photo 3

I know that many complained about Team B’s vocal line way back when they were in WIN and I do admit that even as a fan that their vocal line was pretty weak and had a lot of room for improvement, but it’s been a year now since WIN and they’ve continued training so I’m more than confident that our vocal line have improved and learned to become stable. Even in recent YG family concerts, Team B have been putting on charismatic and stable live performances. I don’t think they were bad to begin with – it was just that the vocalists in Team A made the vocalists in Team B look bad. LOL. But Junhwe is a very powerful singer while Jinhwan is stable even with his chipmunk voice. As for Donghyuk and Yunhyeong, they are no doubt not only the weaker singers but also the weakest links in Team B, but I know that they can improve and that they have so much more to show us now that it’s been a year since we last saw them. I hope that ‘Mix & Match’ will give Yunhyeong, Donghyuk, and Junhwe as much equal screen time as possible that they weren’t given in WIN so that people who complain that they don’t know the other members of Team B other than B.I and Bobby will come to learning more about the other members that also makes up Team B and makes Team B who Team B is.

confirmed

(the three confirmed members: B.I, Jinhwan, Bobby)

As for the group name IKON, I can’t believe I’m saying this but I actually prefer WINNER. LOL. IKON just sounds so weird. It’s like a combination of IKEA + KCON and I’m not so fond of that. YG used to have such cool group names (Big Bang, 2NE1) but then the group names started to go downhill with WINNER and now IKON. Someone’s gotta help YG. Someone, please.

mm

To sum this whole post up, I just want to say that I’m really going to miss seeing Team B as six members and I’m also going to miss calling them Team B. I pray and hope that all original six members will get to debut and that no one ends up like B2ST’s Hyunseung where they get eliminated and hopefully find another company who will debut them. All 6 members are extremely talented in their own ways and from the very beginning Team B proved to fans that they were a force not to be reckoned with anyways. They displayed great stage presence, powerful dance performances with incredible choreography, and stable live performances. I sincerely hope that no matter what, Jinhwan, Yunhyeong, Bobby, B.I, Donghyuk, and Junhwe continue to stay as a group and team. They’ve been one pre-debut and I hope that they are still a team when they debut.

photo 1

Come on Team B fans, let’s vote for the other three original members Yunhyeong, Donghyuk, and Junhwe so that they’ll get their chance at debuting as well.

All pictures do not belong to me. Credit to rightful owners.

One thought on “What Mary Thinks: YG’s new survival program ‘Mix & Match’

Leave a Reply

