What Mary Thinks: It’s Okay, That’s Love + Sulli going on hiatus + Girl’s Day ‘Darling’

A lot has been happening the past few weeks so I thought I discuss about some of the big events that’s been turning heads and add some of my insights on the topics.

I guess I can start off with Girl’s Day ‘Darling’ and just how much of an adorable song this is. I’m not a fan of Girl’s Day (although I do like Yura) so I don’t follow up on shows they appear on nor do I watch any of their live performances. However, I thought I’d give their most recent title track ‘Darling’ a listen and determine whether I like it or not because although I’m not a fan of the members, they do have some songs that I like (Don’t Forget Me for example~). I remember hearing ‘Darling’ play in one of the episodes of ‘King of High School’ and so ever since that episode that I heard the song play in, I went to go check the song out. It only took one listen to the song for me to fall in love with it. It’s just so cute and bubbly and perfect to listen to in the summer. I especially like the chorus (Call me your darling~). I’m a bigger fan of the song than the MV and the group, but I’m going to keep on looking out for Girl’s Day and their catchy songs. I can’t stop listening to this song. Someone help me.

sulli5

It was recently confirmed by SM Entertainment that Sulli of f(x) will be going on a permanent hiatus to catch a break from all of the cruel and harsh comments directed towards her. Because of her hiatus, f(x) will be ending their ‘Red Light’ promotions and will be promoting individually in the meantime instead. I’m not going to lie, I was a bit suspicious when f(x) was promoting ‘Red Light’ without Sulli for one week because she was supposedly sick because we all know how SM treats their artists, but then when SM cleared ALL of f(x)’s schedules for the month, that just made me realize that it might be something more than just being sick and ill. I understand that it must have been hard on Sulli especially ever since her dating scandal with Dynamic Duo’s Choiza (who I might add has also been explicitly talking about the scandal numerous times) so for her to take a break to get some time to herself is a decision I can respect. But I just don’t understand why f(x) just can’t promote as four members for the time being. Fans waited a year for the ‘Red Light’ comeback (and not to forget the teaser photos were just so amazing and beautiful), but now this happens and fans are left mad and suspicious. I’m just sad that f(x) is already leaving so soon. I’m kind of scared that they might be disbanding since it seems like Sulli is getting tired of the idol life (people have stated that she’s always wanted to be an actress) and because SM’s going to be debuting their new 4-member girl group soon. F(x) has always been neglected by SM, but with the debut of the upcoming girl group, we might never get to see them again. Lol. It’s sad because I really like f(x) and they’re one of the only girl groups I am a fan of. I like how their concept isn’t really geared towards being all cute or being all sexy and that it’s somewhere in between or totally out from those two categories. I hope they don’t disband though because I still want to hear more of their funky and unique music that you don’t hear a lot from other girl groups and because I still want to see my Luna perform on stage. I’m hoping that Sulli gets all the time she needs to recover and that f(x) will be making another comeback soon (and by soon I mean less than a year from now).

Its-Okay-Thats-Love-Poster2

Last thing on my list to talk about is new Korean drama ‘It’s Okay, That’s Love’ starring Jo In Sung and Gong Hyo-jin. Okay, so before I go on to talk about my feels for this show, I’m just going to say that I avoided all the teasers and promotions for the show before it aired. I actually was not planning on watching it, but then out of boredom I decided that I should give it a try and by the end of the first episode, I was pleasantly satisfied, addicted, and eager to watch the next episode. I think the drama does a great job presenting the topics of illnesses and syndromes since we rarely ever see these kind of topics be discussed in dramas. I adore the cinematography and music although the tone for the drama can be quite confusing at times and omg, don’t even get me started on the blazing chemistry between Jo In Sung and Gong Hyo-jin.

Its-Okay-Thats-Love-Poster4

(LOOK AT THEM. LOOK AT THEM. AREN’T THEY ADORABLE?! THEY MAKE SUCH A GREAT COUPLE).

Its_Okay_Thats_Love_-p1

I can feel millions of red bright shiny sparks flying in the scenes of them together I can’t help but squeal when they’re together. I’m anticipating their future interactions and how they’re going to get closer to each other. Jo In Sung’s character is such a flirt (but a good flirt at that) and his attempts to get close with Gong Hyo-jin’s character are so funny and amusing. It’s not enough that he spends the whole night in the car with her chasing after one of her patients that’s run away, he moves in to the same house as her too. Although the drama can get quite confusing at times, I appreciate it for the witty and comical characters, with Gong Hyo-jin playing a caring and kind-hearted Psychiatrist and Jo In Sung playing a humorous and interesting author and radio DJ. The drama also stars daddy Sung Dong Il and Giraffe Lee Kwang Soo (whose name in the drama is Soo Kwang. LOL. Isn’t that so creative?!) as well as EXO’s D.O. whose character is made out to be a fan of Jo In Sung’s although I have read spoilers and thoughts that he might be something much more than just a fan (but I won’t say them here. I don’t want anyone to get mad). I can now happily add ‘It’s Okay, That’s Love’ onto my list of dramas I’m currently watching. And if there is ever a time where I want to keep on talking about this drama, I will talk about it and hopefully you guys can join me in on the discussion as well (:

Its-Okay-Thats-Love-6

I’m going to end this post with another small update that I’m hoping you guys won’t get mad at me for. I haven’t been watching the latest episodes of ‘Marriage, Not Dating’ because I’ve been losing my interest for the drama lately so I’m not so sure if I still want to recap the drama. I had stated that I would be doing recaps for it, but since I haven’t been watching the show lately and Dramabeans has picked it up I don’t think I will be doing recaps for it anymore. I hope you guys don’t get mad at me. I’m pretty sure Dramabeans’s recaps would have been way better than mines if I was recapping this show which I won’t be anymore. I’ll try to catch up on the show and discuss about it so that those who are watching it can have a place to discuss their love for this drama. To my fellow readers, you guys still have the recaps on Dramabeans for the show so it’s not all that bad (but just don’t ditch me because I’ve decided to not recap ‘Marriage, Not Dating’ anymore. I still need you guys).

Credit: fullstopzyy1@youtube

One thought on “What Mary Thinks: It’s Okay, That’s Love + Sulli going on hiatus + Girl’s Day ‘Darling’

  1. Potsnpans July 29, 2014 / 3:42 AM

    I’ve lost interest in Marriage, Not Dating too, I don’t understand why Jang Mi puts up with it all. I hope she is going to change and stop letting others run all over her

Leave a Reply

