What Mary Thinks: Cunning Single Lady, Three Days, Bride of the Century, God’s Gift – 14 Days

So I spent most of yesterday and today catching up with the latest Korean dramas that have just aired. There are actually quite many dramas that have begun airing (which is good because I have been feeling Korean Drama deprived lately), so I managed to pick out a few dramas that captured my interest and watched the first episode.

Bride-of-the-Century-Poster1

One of those dramas I watched was ‘Bride of the Century’ starring FT Island’s Lee Hong Ki (who also acted as Jeremy in the popular You’re Beautiful). I actually did not know about this drama until I stumbled upon in on A Koala’s Playground (which I recommend you should visit and follow! Amazing blog and blogger btw!). It turns out that Koala Unnie is recapping the drama so since she was recapping it, I decided to watch the drama. Episode one was a bit slow as expected, but it’s only setting up the plot for the future episodes so I really anticipate what will happen next. If you aren’t familiar with the drama, Lee Hong Ki plays Choi Kang Ju who is the heir to a very famous and wealthy company called ‘Taeyang Corporation.’ He is engaged to a mean and selfish fiance named Jang Yi-kyung played by Yang Jin-Sung. However, just before they are to announce their marriage to everyone, she decides to run away because of some conflicts, and therefore that’s where the female lead Na Doo-rim comes in (she is also played by Yang Jin-Sung so Yang Jin-sung plays two different roles in this drama) who happens to look exactly like Kang-ju’s fiance so Doo-rim is substituted in as Kang-ju’s fiance for now until Yi-kyung (the REAL fiance is found). Maybe it’s because this was the first episode that I found Hong Ki’s acting a bit…uncomfortable and awkward to watch, but I can put up with his acting for now, because I’m expecting him to improve in the future. I actually have always liked Yang Jin-sung ever since I saw her in ‘City Hunter’; I’m glad she gets to play the female lead of a drama. I love Doo-rim who is such a hard-working and optimistic lady. Because she lost her parents at a young age, she’s been raised by her grandmother and even when she was scammed and lost all of her money, she was motivated to work again to take care of her grandmother. She’s warm-hearted and kind and persistent. Doo-rim can also be really bad-ass as evident when she beat up these 3 guys who didn’t pay for the coffee Doo-rim sold them. I loved that scene, because it showed that she isn’t an easy girl to deal with. She has a heart, but she also stands up for herself and is courageous in so many ways. I love that! Doo-rim so far is awesome and when she interacts with our cold and harsh Kang-ju, I can’t wait to see how their love story unravels. Should you watch it? Go ahead, give it a try!

3-Days-Poster1 3-Days-Poster4

 

(I especially love the poster of Yoochun by the car. OMG. SO FREAKING. HAWT. just kill me now).

Next up is ‘Three Days’ and one thing that I immediately noticed and loved about this drama is the cinematography. It is just so breath-taking and beautiful really. It reminds me of ‘Inspiring Generation’ and how that drama also had great cinematography. Anyways, on to the drama. It’s not bad, but I do expect this drama to have a lot of cliffhanger endings (which I think we all hate). Heck, even episode one ended with our President in potential danger and I was on the edge of my seat. Cast wise, I haven’t always been a fan of Yoochun’s acting, but compared to his ‘Missing You’ days, he has definitely increased. As for Park Ha Sun, although I love her to little bits, I never really had positive thoughts about her acting, but she has also shown some improvement in this drama. I’m not liking her short hair although I know I’ll get used to it. Then as for So Yi-Hyun, I also had the same exact feeling about her like how I did with Yoochun and Park Ha Sun as well, and just like how I said the other two improved, so has So Yi-Hyun. And that’s a big relief, because the last drama I saw her in was ‘Heartstrings’ and she was horrible in there. All she did was widen her eyes and looked frozen and stiff. Then last but not least you have Son Hyun-joo who I don’t even need to talk about because he’s always great in whatever drama or movie he’s acting in. There’s also Jang Hyun-sung (I forgot his role in the drama), but I remember seeing him in the popular TV show ‘Superman is Back’ so I’m rooting for him here! If you don’t know what ‘Three Days’ is about yet, Son Hyun-joo plays the President and happens to get kidnapped so it’s the job of Yoochun and his crew to get the President back. As simple as this plot sounds, you definitely know that there’s so much more to this and I’m excited to know how all of this is going to be executed. But if there was something I’m a bit picky about, it would be the dragging of the scenes. The drama likes to drag out some scenes for emphasis, but sadly I don’t think it’s working. One example would be when Yoochun was mourning over his father while sitting at a bus stop. Viewers were watching him sit on the bench (and he wasn’t even waiting for the bus either) thinking about his father for a good two minutes. I know this might sound harsh because Yoochun’s character has lost his father so abruptly, but we don’t need to see two minutes of him sitting in pure silence. It’s awkward and boring and repetitive. Can we move on already? That’s just something that bothered me a bit in ‘Three Days’, but other than that, the drama is good. Sooo should you watch it? I’m not saying you shouldn’t, but if you’re more into rom-coms, then this drama might not be the one for you.

Cunning-Single-Lady-Poster2

Oh oh, Cunning Single Lady. What am I gonna do with you? Not that I expected many great and wonderful things out of this drama in the first place, but the characters in this drama are just so annoying and aggravating to watch. I’m especially fed up with our female lead Na Ae-ra. She expected so many things from her marriage and when her expectations were failed, she decided to give up on the marriage. Then when she discovers that her ex-husband has become this rich and powerful CEO of this company, she goes back to keeping in contact with him again. It annoys me, because she said herself that she was expecting her husband to feed her, not her feed him, so when his husband quit his job in hopes to create a business and she had to work to provide for them instead, she got mad and wanted to separate. I can’t understand her nor can I sympathize for her when her husband was trying just as hard. I wish she could have been more understanding and patient. It’s not like her husband then Cha Jeong-woo (played by Joo Sang-wook) was running around and playing with girls – I think he was trying his hardest as well. And that was obviously evident when he managed to become this really wealthy and rich Chaebol later on in the future. Argh, I don’t know how I feel about this drama overall. I actually anticipated it the most because I love both Joo Sang-wook and Lee Min-jung lots and as actors and actresses I love them both, but their characters in this drama are so annoying. Lol. As for our second female and male leads, I wasn’t so sure on their characters…but I’m not so impressed with our seond male lead Seo Kang-joon. Granted, he’s very handsome (no doubt about that), but his acting is just…kind of awkward to put in nicer terms. Overall, would I recommend you to watch this drama? Not if you don’t want to kill yourself over frustration and irritation. Lol, I’m joking. Give it a try and if you happen to drop it, I doubt there’ll be much you’re missing out on. I predict this drama to have a lot of dragging / back and forth arguments and fights. If you drop this drama, I will understand.

Gods-Gift-14-Days-04

Then last but not least is ‘God’s Gift -14 Days’ and I am actually quite confused on what the tone of this drama is supposed to be. Because Lee Bo Young’s character Kim Soo Hyun has to travel back in time to save her adorable daughter, I thought this drama would immediately start off with a dark and mysterious vibe, but the drama was actually quite light and not as heavy as I had expected, which made me quite confused on how I should feel about the first episode. All the cast members are incredibly talented; B1A4’s Baro plays a handicapped person in this drama and he’s doing great so far. I’m sad to know that my Ki Kwang isn’t playing the leader of the boy group ‘Snake’ that Lee Bo Young’s daughter loves and spazzes over in this drama (Ki Kwang was replaced by No Min Woo), but then now that I have seen the role that Ki Kwang was going to play, I’m glad he isn’t because…I can’t imagine Ki Kwang with more eye liner than he usually wears rocking to rock music. It’ll be a weird image I probably won’t be able to get out of my head (not that the role is weird or anything. It’s just that Ki Kwang wouldn’t suit it). In episode one, uri daughter has already been kidnapped (SO EARLY INTO THE DRAMA. GAHHHH) so it’s up to uri mother Lee Bo Young to travel back in time to find her daughter. And we viewers get to see her embark on her journey which is bound to be interesting and one heck of a ride. Should you watch this one? GO FOR IT.

Secret-Love-Affair-Poster1Her-Lovely-Heels-Poster1

Future Korean dramas I plan to watch is ‘Secret Love Affair’ with Yoo Ah In and Kim Hee-ae because it looks pretty good so far and this is coming from a girl who’s not so fond of Noona romances. Haha. In my previous post, I hinted at a possible recap for ‘Her Lovely Heels’, a drama starring Hong Jong-hyun and Kara’s Seung Yeon. I haven’t gotten around to doing the recaps for that drama yet, because I’m still catching up with all the four dramas I just mentioned about above, so please wait patiently for the recaps. This is the most amount of dramas that I have watched ever simultaneously while busy with school so I’m expecting to drop a few dramas in the future if my expectations aren’t met…and that’s very sad.

So that’s it for the latest edition of ‘What Mary Thinks.’ Are you watching any of these dramas I did a review about? If yes, which one and your thoughts on it! Comment down below! ๐Ÿ˜€

3 thoughts on “What Mary Thinks: Cunning Single Lady, Three Days, Bride of the Century, God’s Gift – 14 Days

  1. ayota March 18, 2014 / 11:35 PM

    I love cunning single lady so much I think it’s a good drama ^_^

  2. Caroline March 22, 2014 / 4:04 PM

    I love the slow song in episode 8 in the hospital scene and at the end. Do you know the name of the song? Please let me know. Thanks so much.

    • marymekpop March 22, 2014 / 8:32 PM

      Hi Caroline ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m unfortunately not watching any more of the dramas I have mentioned in this post (except for ‘Her Lovely Heels’) so I’m not sure which drama you’re referring to. Would you mind telling me which drama you’re talking about so I can help you?

      Thanks~

Leave a Reply

